top of page


Current Board of Directors:

Paul Bernier, Scott Newman, Tatsuo Okaya, Fred Peterson, Rob Stewart

As a fire protection district, Northern Sonoma County Fire is governed by an elected five-person Board of Directors.  Anyone residing within the fire district boundaries, and who meets other legal requirements to hold public office, can run for a position on the Board.  Elections are conducted every two years; each director serves a four-year term.  If you are interested in being a candidate for the Northern Sonoma County Fire Board of Directors, contact the Sonoma County Registrar of Voters.

The Board of Directors conducts regular public meetings, in compliance with the Brown Act, on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm. In addition, the Board occasionally calls for a special meeting. Anyone who is interested in how the business of the fire district is conducted is welcome to attend and to comment on any item on the agenda.

Members of the public are welcome to address the Board about any item not on the agenda in the ‘public comment’ portion of each meeting’s agenda.  All presentations made under public appearance are normally restricted to three (3) minutes in length per meeting unless the board President specifically authorizes additional time.

Reasonable accommodation will be made at the meeting for anyone having special needs due to disabilities.  We request such person contact the Clerk of the Board at least 48 hours prior to the meeting.

Each meeting’s agenda is posted in two locations on the Monday before the regular Board meeting: at Northern Sonoma County Fire Protection District, Geyserville Fire Station, 20975 Geyserville Ave and on this this website on the Board Agendas page.

Prior to each meeting, a Board packet is assembled, containing documents pertinent to agenda actions items along with copies of the District’s accounts payables, correspondence, and other items of general information for the Board.  The Board packet is available for public viewing at Northern Sonoma County Fire Protection District, Geyserville Fire Station, at 20975 Geyserville Ave by 7 p.m. on the Monday before the Board meeting.

bottom of page